#Review of #WhenTheGuiltyCry by @WriterMJLee published by @CaneloCrime

Three severed hands. No clues. A race against time.

Three embalmed hands are discovered in a disused Victorian house. Is it a gangland ritual? The work of a cult? Or just a prank played by Medical Students? And what happened to the bodies?

Meanwhile the Coroner needs to issue a Presumption of Death certificate on a teenage girl who vanished eleven years ago in mysterious circumstances.

As hints emerge the two cases are connected, DI Ridpath pushes himself to the limit to find out what really happened. It soon emerges the house is a former children’s home. When another woman, a local social worker, disappears, he is under immense pressure to find answers. What really happened at Daisy House Children’s Home all those years ago?

He has just one week to discover the truth…

The latest in the #1 bestselling DI Ridpath crime thriller series, perfect for fans of Mark Billingham and Peter James.

I will try not to be too biased with my review of the latest DI Ridpath thriller, When The Guilty Cry by the superbly talented MJ Lee, but I LOVE this book series!

From the opening chapter I just knew I was hooked, I’m trying to pinpoint why I love these books so much….I think it’s in the way MJ writes, every time I pick up one of the DI Ridpath books, it’s like Im being given a virtual hug, being wrapped in a warm blanket….I just know what to expect and I love it!

As with ever story and plot, this one is twisty and engaging, I personally love the Police procedural side and also the Coroner’s Office side…I’m thinking because I’m a frustrated Cop!, anything that details the procedures ticks my boxes! And I think learning about the Coroner’s office is really useful, I would love to have worked in a Coroner’s office, it’s seems so interesting and to be able to give the dead a voice is so powerful! The writing from both these points of view is really sublime, and with each Ridpath book it just gets better and better!

I’m not going to give anything away, but I will say this is a superb book and I also love the personal story that carries thru the books with Ridpath and his Daughter….as always I read this book in 2 days, now I will have to wait another year before I get a another fix of DI Thomas Ridpath!

A solid 5 ⭐️ read.

Martin spent 25 years of his life working for advertising companies in London, Hong Kong, Taipei, Singapore, Bangkok and Shanghai. As a copywriter and a creative director, he has won awards from Cannes, One Show, D&AD, New York, the LIAA, and the United Nations.
He’s written four historical crime novels. The latest, ‘The Irish Inheritance’, a Jayne Sinclair, Genealogical Mystery, will be published on June 15, 2016.
When he’s not writing, he splits his time between the UK and Asia, dancing with his three year-old daughter, researching his family histrory, practicing downhill ironing, single-handedly solving the problem of the French wine lake and wishing he were George Clooney.

You can follow Martin HERE on his Website

Buy the DI Ridpath books HERE