#Review of #BlackRun by @DLMWrites #DannyMarshall @canelo_co


The epic second novel from the author of the acclaimed Anthrax Island.

John Tyler has a new mission: capture a heavily protected target from the Alps and smuggle him back into the UK in time for Christmas.

La Rochelle in the dead of night: Tyler boards the Tiburon, a rusting freighter crewed by smugglers and mercenaries, for the last leg of his journey. But he is short on time. His mark’s security team has pursued him across France, determined to retrieve their boss, and they won’t be deterred by an ocean. The race is on.

Tyler heads into the Bay of Biscay in a storm, with a pursuing boat snapping at his heels. But when his prisoner is found murdered inside a sealed hold on the ship, everyone on board becomes a suspect. In the flickering light of the Tiburon’s passageways there’s nowhere to run, but everywhere to hide.

Some might think the situation is spiralling out of control, but they don’t know John Tyler…

Perfect for fans of Alistair MacLean and Terry Hayes, Ronin meets Bond in this high-octane thriller that races from the French Alps to a creaking ghost ship in the Atlantic, with a locked-room mystery at its heart.

Firstly I must say thank you so much to Danny for my signed copy of Black Run, I’ve been waiting most of the year for it!

From the very first page this is an absolutely high octane thriller, I was so gripped by it!

The plot revolves around our Hero, John Tyler, smuggling a heavily protected target into the UK, Alive, so he can be interrogated. And it’s not an easy journey, Tyler has to take to deliver him! It involves shoot-outs and mayhem in a French Alps snow resort, a thrilling car chase to a cargo ship. Then a locked room mystery on a cargo ship, being sailed by undesirables who want to double cross Tyler at every turn!

I must say that the descriptions of the cargo ship Tiburon, are written so graphically, that it felt like I was on the ship with Tyler. Not helped by the fact that I have PTSD from a very nasty North Atlantic Cruise…. So I could actually feel myself there, and hear all the creaks and moans of the ship on a stormy sea! But isn’t that part of the magic of a book, when the reading is almost tangible? And Danny Marshalls talent at writing so descriptively makes for a brilliant, gripping and detailed read.

I’m not giving any of the plot away, but I will say that a locked room mystery thrown into the midst of a fast paced, riveting storyline, is just superb and will keep you turning the pages until the end…….. and what an end!!!!

If you are a fan of what I call, boys-own thrillers, you will love the John Tyler series, start with Anthrax Island and then Black Run, you won’t be disappointed! I hope that Black Run will blow up and be one of the thriller books of 2022!

5 ⭐️ Read! 👏🔥💣👏

D. L. Marshall
D. L. Marshall was born and raised in Halifax, West Yorkshire. Influenced by the dark industrial architecture, steep wooded valleys, and bleak Pennine moors, he writes thrillers tinged with horror, exploring the impact of geography and isolation. In 2016 he pitched at Bloody Scotland. In 2018 he won a Northern Writers’ Award for his thriller novel Anthrax Island.

You can follow DL Marshall on Twitter @DLMWrites

You can Follow DL Marshall on Instagram @dannymarshallwrites

You can buy a signed copy of Black Run HERE