My #Review of the gripping #Thriller #Shiver by @AuthorAllier @headlinepg

They were all there. So which one of them did it?

It’s that time of year when the glacier gives up bodies. But there’s one in particular someone is looking out for. When five friends meet for a reunion in an isolated mountain lodge, things turn deadly in the must-read thriller of the year. Fans of Lucy Foley and Lisa Jewell will be gripped by the spectacular debut novel Shiver.

When Milla is invited to a reunion in the French Alps resort that saw the peak of her snowboarding career, she drops everything to go. While she would rather forget the events of that winter, the invitation comes from Curtis, the one person she can’t seem to let go.

The five friends haven’t seen each other for ten years, since the disappearance of the beautiful and enigmatic Saskia. But when an icebreaker game turns menacing, they realise they don’t know who has really gathered them there and how far they will go to find the truth.

In a deserted lodge high up a mountain, the secrets of the past are about to come to light.

I’ve had Shiver sitting on my bookcase since I bought it in January this year, as it’s winter, I wanted to read a book set in the snow (my favourite weather). So in I went!

What an absolutely exceptional book! I find it hard to believe that this is Allie’s first book because it’s an absolutely brilliantly written, gripping, thriller that actually gave me the shiver’s!! From the first page, I was so involved with the story, a reunion that goes horribly wrong, but the storyline is so well plotted and throws in some fantastic twists and turns. I loved the setting or La Rocher, snow, glaciers, cold, high up in the mountains and you feel as though you are really there! If you are a lover of a locked room mystery with a twist, then you will want to read Shiver.

The characters are really well described and I found myself hating one (no spoilers!) and really getting into the other’s personalities, and liking some! A great story has great characters and Shiver has it all.

Shiver is a blindingly good read, thrilling, gripping and you can feel the cold and damp start to sneak into you whilst you read, an all-round brilliant debut from an author who has a talent for writing, I hope that Ms Reynold’s writes another book as good as this one.

And absolute book-banger and a 5 star read!

About Allie Reynolds

I was once a freestyle snowboarder in the UK top ten at halfpipe. I spent five winters in the mountains of France, Switzerland, Austria and Canada.

I taught English for fifteen years. I’ve also been a London primary school teacher, bookshop assistant, barmaid, nanny and French teacher/translator. My short fiction has appeared in women’s magazines in the UK, Australia, Sweden and South Africa. I’ve been a full-time writer since 2018.

Born and raised in Lincoln, England, I moved to Gold Coast Australia in 2003. I have two young children and a cat who thinks he’s a dog.

Allie’s Website Twitter Instagram Facebook

You can BUY Shiver HERE