My #Review of #TheHomes by @JamesMylet published by @ViperBooks on 26/05/2022

Based on the true story of a childhood growing up in a home for abandoned and unwanted children, The Homes is a beautiful and haunting thriller.

As moving as it is gripping… I loved it’ CHRIS BROOKMYRE
‘Utterly compelling’ MARION TODD
‘Extraordinary’ JAMES OSWALD

There were good people in The Homes. But there were also some very, very bad ones…

A thousand unwanted children live in The Homes, a village of orphans in the Scottish Lowlands on the outskirts of Glasgow. Lesley was six before she learned that most children live with their parents. Now Lesley is twelve, and she and her best friend Jonesy live in Cottage 5, Jonesy the irrepressible spirit to Lesley’s quiet thoughtfulness.

Life is often cruel at The Homes, and suddenly it becomes much crueller. A child is found murdered. Then another. With the police unable to catch the killer, Lesley and Jonesy decide to take the matter into their own hands. But unwanted children are easy victims, and they are both in terrible danger…

Inspired by a true story, and introducing readers to the unforgettable voice of young orphan Lesley, The Homes is a moving and lyrical thriller, perfect for readers of Val McDermid, Chris Whitaker, Jane Casey and Denise Mina.

Thank you so much to Viper Books for the brilliant proof copy of The Homes

This is the first book I have read by James Mylet, and I was absolutely obsessed with it from page 1! The way it’s written is such an easy read, but the story is not skimped on.

A tale that is based on some truth of 2 twelve-year-old girls in a children’s home in Scotland.

The 2 main characters of Lesley and “Jonesey” are written with such love and care, and they tell the story of friendship, murder and abuse in a place that should keep children safe. That is not to say that there are any extreme scenes, in fact the power of NOT saying something is sometimes stronger!

It’s not very often that books make me cry, but this one did …. NO SPOILERS!

I was totally invested in The Homes, the story and plot were excellent, and I did not guess who the murderer was until it was revealed at the end!

If you like a creepy, thriller then I urge you to read The Homes from a talented and caring writer.

A fantastic 5 star read

James Mylet was inspired to write The Homes based on the short stories his Mother told him about her childhood.She grew up in the infamous Quarrier’s Homes in Scotland in the 1960’s, along with thousands of other orphaned or unwanted children, and did not realise that children were supposed to live with their parents until she was seven. James felt this story needed to be told. James lives in London

You can find James on TWITTER