Anthrax Island by D.L Marshall

WOW!!!! What an absolute better of a book Anthrax Island is by D.L Marshall.

From the very first few pages i just knew this would be a gripping and pretty heart in mouth, thrilling read, and every page increased the thrills, an almost claustrophobic setting that had me totally hooked and on edge!

I LOVE John Tyler ( Our Hero!), a complicated, broken, driven man who has the coolest car in fiction!

Brilliant book a total 5 ⭐ Star Read. I cannot wait for #Book2!!

I urge you to read buy it and read it!

D.L Marshall Official Webpage – https://www.canelo.co/authors/d-l-marshall/

The Blood Divide by A.A Dhand

Well my first read of another new author (thanks Twitter) was something I was looking forward too….

All I can say is WOW!…. I was hooked from the first page, I instantly wanted to immerse myself in The Blood Divide. I loved the characters and the writing is superb, like a film inside my head. I’m not giving any spoilers away but the settings were authentic and I actually felt like I was there, plus it inspired me to google subjects in the book and learn historical facts that I didn’t know, which is always the sign of a good book.

A thriller of superb pedigree and if you like Dan Brown you will love The Blood Divide, only its better! It is definitely one of my books of the year, and I have straight away ordered the Harry Virdee series as I find A.A Dhands writing so compelling.

If you like a page Turner that will have you going thru all the emotions then I suggest you buy it!

5 Star Read

A.A Dhand Official Website – https://www.aadhand.com/

A Necessary Evil by Abir Mukherjee

Oh my…I’ve just finished A Necessary Evil by Abir Mukherjee, the second in the Captain Sam Wyndham and Sergeant ‘Surrender-Not’ Banerjee series set in India during the 1920,s….and it was superb, I can’t believe it was even better than the first book.


The historical side of the British Raj and India is amazing, I’ve not really been a reader of historical fiction but this series has me absolutely hooked, the way Abir writes is so vivid and enthralling it’s like you can physically smell and feel the story, amazingly talented to be able to do that! 


The main characters of Wyndham and Bannerjee are even more loveable in this second helping, they have flaws but work so well together as a detective duo, and the added black humor that’s dotted thru the storyline is superb. 
The plot was well thought out and very in depth, again Abir is a master of this.


I have to say that after reading 2 of this series now, I just adore them, I think these books are probably up there with my favorite series ever! 


I cannot think of enough words of praise for Abir and his writing, if there’s one person I would love to meet and have a long conversation with, it’s you Sir, as I feel you would have me mesmerized with your knowledge of all things India and Opium during the British Raj.


A definite 5 ⭐️ Read ….if you want books to only immerse yourself in, this series is for you! 

Rabbit Hole by Mark Billingham

Wow!!
I’ve just finished Rabbit Hole by Mark Billingham…… and it was tremendous! 


The storyline was so unique and I really loved Alice. I’m not going to give away the storyline, but it’s set in a Secure Mental Health Ward. I was so deep in the rabbit hole, I was afraid I would never get out! 


Gripping from start to end, brilliantly written and the research and psychology involved in creating this book is so authentic.

It’s many years since I’ve read a book by Mr Billingham, this made me realise that he is surely a master of writing a thrilling, plot driven, twisty thriller.
I feel Alice will stay with me for a long time!


5 ⭐️ Read! 

Mark Billingham Official Website – https://markbillingham.com/

The Ringmaster by Vanda Symon (Audible)

This is the second instalment is the Sam Shepherd series from the absolutely brilliant pen of Vanda Symon.

I listened to this on Audible and it was just brilliant. I love Sam she’s sassy and bloody funny… Symon’s talent for writing a skillful, mystery with humor and realism is amazing in The Ringmaster. But be warned I cried tears at a certain point!….a true skill to reduce the reader to tears and then to make them laugh.

If you’ve not come across this series set in New Zealand I urge you to…you will not be disappointed.

5⭐️ Read for me! 

Vanda Symon Official Website – http://www.vandasymon.com/

The Girl Who Died by Ragnar Jonasson

I’m a huge fan of Nordic Noir and Ragnar Jonasson so I was extremely read The Girl Who Died. 


It is a creepy slow burning story about Una set in the 1980’s, in Iceland. I love the way Ragnar builds a story and the description of the cold dark days of the Icelandic winter really helped to make the story even more creepy and kinda jumpy!

 
I’m not going to give away any spoilers but I loved the crescendo and found the book very compelling, I finished it in 2 days so that tells you how good it is! 

For fans of claustrophobic dark spooky thrillers, this one’s for you.

Another 5 Star read

Far From The Tree by Rob Parker

OMG what a book!


Well Far From The Tree is my first read by author Rob Parker, and let me tell you it is definitely in my top ten of 2021!


Totally gripping and shockingly gruesome story of DI Brendan Foley and the discovery of 27 bodies all vacuum packed in plastic and buried in a shallow grave in a woodland trench in Warrington, UK.
I am not going to give any more of the story away but let me tell you this….you will be shocked, you will gasp, you will be gripped, you will be thrilled and above all you will be impressed with this book.

Fantastically well written with oodles of characters it reads like a movie. Dark and intense, I couldn’t get enough of it!


If you read one crime thriller this year please read FarFromTheTree, it’s a page turning masterpiece!

5⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ read!

Red Wolves by Adam Hamdy

I’m a huge fan girl of Adam Hamdy and loved The Pendulem Trilogy. When Black 13 came Adam kindly gifted me a copy and I was blown away (see in my reviews) so I’ve been waiting for what feels like years for the follow up…..by gum I was not disappointed!

This is set in the now and starts off with an absolutely gripping prison escape in Egypt, then very soon we, the reader, are caught up in the world of ex MI6 officer Scott Pearce and his team, in an utterly thrilling chase through different Countries to stop a deadly Toxin being spread around the world.

This is such an intensely researched and intelligent thriller, there’s so much for fans of Spy and Espionage books here, I would categorise it as James Bond on Speed! With every page you get deeper and deeper in this world, its immersive and just breathtaking! I really can’t find any fault in Red Wolves and think it’s Adams best work so far. The description of fights, of chases, of spy wear and spy equipment is just amazingly detailed and so realistic! The characters are truly human, and diverse, as well as being kick arse which makes the book really sing.

In summing up, This is my 47th book this year and it’s gone straight in at number 2 (only closely pipped by Will Dean’s The Last Thing To Burn.) Simply fantastic, an unputdownable thriller that would make a superb movie, if you’ve not read any of Adams books then I urge you to read Black 13 and Red Wolves, you will not be disappointed.

Once again thank you Adam for my copy and I hope you’re writing book 3 furiously! I can’t wait to read it!

#adamhamdy #panmacmillan #redwolves #scottpearce #thriller #spy #boysownadventures #gripping #unputdownable

The Abandoned House by Karen Louise Hollis

Firstly thank you so much Karen for gifting me a lovely physical copy, I love the cover!

Although this is a short red, I really enjoyed it, spooky and pretty gripping, the tale of Rebecca who has just come out of an abusive marriage and her bestest buddy Max. To take her mind of her troubles Max takes her On an Urban Explore and that’s where it all starts for Rebecca!

Good storyline, likeable characters and a good ending.

4 star read ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

The Abandoned House Karen Louise Hollis